The Gourmet Traveller Wine Awards 2010: a hatrick for South Australia

The eyes may be on the footie here tomorrow (The AFL Grand Final), but South Australia scored a hatrick tonight at The Gourmet Traveller Wine Awards in Melbourne.  The Winemaker of the Year Award 2010 went to Wynns Coonawarra Estate’s dynamic winemaker and viticultural duo, Sue Hodder and Allen Jenkins – great result!  

As you can see, Sue was ecstatic to receive the award, which is based on the quality of the nominees’ wines, especially those released in the past year.  Check out my reports here and here for my notes of a tasting with Sue in May and her comments on the invaluable role played by Jenkins.

Robert “Rocky” O’ Callaghan of Rockford in the Barossa, who has inspired a generation of new winemakers as well as wine drinkers, won the Len Evans Award.  Young Winemaker of the year went to biodynamic producer Tom Shobbrook of Shobbrook Wines in the Barossa Valley.

(Visited 37 times, 1 visits today)

There are no comments

Add yours